• Describe your experience as a user of the tool/ app/ website.  What is your opinion about using this tool/ app/ website to teach someone something?  My stop animation project focused on an app called AllRecipie.Com. This is an easy-to-maneuver cooking app. You can tell it what main ingredients you want to use, what meal you’re cooking, how long you have to cook/prepare, and the way in which you want to cook it. It gives a lot of recipe options and is very simple and easy to use, especially for those who are new to the kitchen. I, being a novice myself, found it very easy to navigate and find exactly what I was looking for. The directions are simplistic so it is a very good tool for teaching someone how to cook.

AllRecipe.Com Logo

  •  You have at least learned 5 different tools/ apps/ websites from your peers.  What is your opinion about using these emerging technologies in 21st century learning?  I think that using these technologies in the classroom can be beneficial but should not be used at a main learning tool. I think that the most efficient usage of them is for a side-tool and to assist teaching, or for at-home practice. Many people find it difficult to learn without face-to-face assistance from an instructor. Technology is good but it cannot replace human interaction.
  • Describe your experience in making a stop animation video.  What are the pros and cons of this technique?  What suggestions will you give to others who want to try this technique?  I had some issues with my stop animation video. Since my project included cooking, my hands were dirty and thus it was difficult to take pictures as frequently as I needed to. I also spent a lot of time fighting with iMovie, since I had never used it before and was having a lot of trouble learning how to make it work the way I needed it to. The finished product was somewhat choppy and, honestly, a little boring. But, I think that it overall accomplished what it was supposed to accomplish, which is giving information about the app and showing how it can be used as a learning tool. I would suggest to take a LOT of pictures to make it flow smoothly, because otherwise it will be choppy and resemble a slide show instead of a movie.
The Finished Product

The Finished Product